Archives

January 18, 2020 , Sat
I am not the best at making and keeping resolutions. Well, technically, I'm good at making them just not so much the other part. I resurrected this blog and my Booktube channel which both help me maintain a healthy brain, but I'm terrible at posting and keeping up with both. I'm gonna try and get better, though. Basically, this is a hold myself accountable post and I charge all 3 of you reading this to backhand me across the face if I start to fall off the wagon. Seriously, ask me for my number and I will give it to you and you can text me incessantly if I haven't been living up to my own expectations. Cool? Cool. Anyways, here are the goals I've come up with for the year. reading goals: 52 books this year (one book a week) 📖 read some non-fiction read some middle grade continue finding and supporting diverse authors/works try to read at least a little bit every day Continue Reading +

Continue Reading

November 14, 2019 , Thu
So you wanna watch a Kdrama, but don't know where to start? Don't worry, y'all,  I got you covered. Today, I'll be talking about 12 Kdramas currently on Netflix you can start right now. If you're not familiar with Korean dramas, that's totally cool! I didn't know what they were when I found them so many years ago, but I quickly grew to love them (in fact, I watch more Korean dramas than I do American televsion). They are trope-y fanfictiony goodness all rolled into 16-20 episodes. That's right, 16-20 episodes. Unlike American tv which has multiple seasons of shows, Korean dramas tend to tell their story completely within a much shorter time frame. Typical dramas only air for a few months and then they're done! No season two, three four, etc. There are exceptions to this, but very few. I actually found the format refreshing because I knew that once I started a Kdrama, I wouldn't have to wait 8 seasons to see certain developments. All in all, I've become obsessed with them and can't wait to share my love with y'all. Recently, Netflix has stepped up its Kdrama game, adding more and more Kdramas to their service (including 

Continue Reading

October 16, 2019 , Wed
    When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide. Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one… Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo. B&N / Amazon / Goodreads I really do enjoy a good retelling and The Count of Monte Cristo isn't one I see very often. Plus, I was a huge fan of Tara Sim's Timekeeper series so 

Continue Reading

October 15, 2019 , Tue
The Bone Witch is one of my all-time favorite YA series so I was very excited to see what else Rin Chupeco had up her sleeve and The Never Tilting World does not disappoint. There's just something about the worlds she creates that really resonate with me on multiple levels. She really has become an auto-buy author for me and this book solidifies her in my top five YA authors currently producing work. Whenever I hear about things she's working on, I'm always curious and 100% on board with supporting the shit out of them. *I received a copy of this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Continue Reading +

Continue Reading

October 2, 2019 , Wed
I super loved Rebel Seoul. Two of my favorite things in the world are Pacific Rim and kdrama so when I heard about this series, I was already totally freaking in. Honestly, this duology holds a special place in my heart simply because I've been a huge fan of Korean dramas for years now and to see some of these tropes and character types play out in novel format was just *chef's kiss* for me. It also contains a good dose of anime inspiration (particularly with regard to mechs) so yeah, big fan. *I received a copy of this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Continue Reading +

Continue Reading

September 25, 2019 , Wed
    Frozen meets Mad Max in this epic teen fantasy duology bursting with star-crossed romance, immortal heroines, and elemental magic, perfect for fans of Furyborn. Generations of twin goddesses have long ruled Aeon. But seventeen years ago, one sister’s betrayal defied an ancient prophecy and split their world in two. The planet ceased to spin, and a Great Abyss now divides two realms: one cloaked in perpetual night, the other scorched by an unrelenting sun. While one sister rules Aranth—a frozen city surrounded by a storm-wracked sea —her twin inhabits the sand-locked Golden City. Each goddess has raised a daughter, and each keeps her own secrets about her sister’s betrayal. But when shadowy forces begin to call their daughters, Odessa and Haidee, back to the site of the Breaking, the two young goddesses —along with a powerful healer from Aranth, and a mouthy desert scavenger —set out on separate journeys across treacherous wastelands, desperate to heal their broken world. No matter the sacrifice it demands. B&N / Amazon / Goodreads Yo, I am the hugest fan of Rin Chupeco. I feel in love with her writing when I discovered The Bone Witch series this past year and I have vowed to read everything 

Continue Reading

September 24, 2019 , Tue
Listen, I freaking love space books. They are absolutely my jam and there's a good chance if a book is set in space, I'm going to love it. That being said, this book was no exception. I chose to read this for my NEWTs and it came highly recommended by two Booktubers I enjoy watching (shoutout to readywithcindy and Books With Alyssa J) so I was excited to pick it up, finally. It had been sitting on my shelf for YEARS and I was so mad I didn't read it sooner. I definitely plan to continue on with the series, but let's talk about THIS SUPER AWESOME  SPACE BOOK. Continue Reading +

Continue Reading

September 4, 2019 , Wed
    There was nothing in the world as magical and terrifying as a girl. Princess Guinevere has come to Camelot to wed a stranger: the charismatic King Arthur. With magic clawing at the kingdom's borders, the great wizard Merlin conjured a solution--send in Guinevere to be Arthur's wife . . . and his protector from those who want to see the young king's idyllic city fail. The catch? Guinevere's real name--and her true identity--is a secret. She is a changeling, a girl who has given up everything to protect Camelot. To keep Arthur safe, Guinevere must navigate a court in which the old--including Arthur's own family--demand things continue as they have been, and the new--those drawn by the dream of Camelot--fight for a better way to live. And always, in the green hearts of forests and the black depths of lakes, magic lies in wait to reclaim the land. Arthur's knights believe they are strong enough to face any threat, but Guinevere knows it will take more than swords to keep Camelot free. Deadly jousts, duplicitous knights, and forbidden romances are nothing compared to the greatest threat of all: the girl with the long black hair, riding on horseback 

Continue Reading

September 3, 2019 , Tue
Hello blogging, my old friend. It's been a while, guys? Back when I started this site, I was young. Well, younger. I was full of ideals and wonder and capable of running on two hours of sleep. While I still have the ideals and wonder, I'm barely a human at two hours of sleep. Eventually, blogging became harder for me as I took on more responsibilities at work, decided to apply for grad school, got into grad school, had no time for anything else besides work and grad school, but still decided to start a Booktube channel, graduated from grad school, and promptly burned out. I'm sure you know this story. Anyway, I've missed blogging and making youtube videos about books and talking about books in general so I decided to make my way back into the sphere. At the same time, I had developed new interests and reignited passions for some of my older ones and I wanted to find a way to incorporate it all into my site so I re-branded myself as Paperback Jedi. I plan to talk about video games, books, movies, kdrama, fandom, and a variety of other topics that strike my fancy. I feel like 

Continue Reading