October 16, 2019 , Wed

 

 

When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide. Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one…

Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo.

B&N / AmazonGoodreads

I really do enjoy a good retelling and The Count of Monte Cristo isn’t one I see very often. Plus, I was a huge fan of Tara Sim’s Timekeeper series so you know what? I’m hype for this.

I’ve found Sim’s work to be both creative and compelling. I mean, clock spirits? Who would have thought of freaking clock spirits? And a soft ghost clock spirit boyfriend paired with an irritable clock mechanic? It was just magical. So when I heard about her newest title, Scavenge the Stars, I immediately added it to my TBR. I just know she’ll tackle this story with the same heart and ingenuity (and this one promises angst and swords and deception, oh my!). I’m eagerly anticipating seeing how she sets up this new world and getting a look at a book with a much different tone and feel. It’s also the first book in a series so I’m pretty sure we’re gonna be going on quite the dashing adventure!

Scavenge the Stars comes out on January 7th, 20202 which probably seems much farther than it actually is. But it’s still a three month wait and I still hate waiting. 😢 But at least I’m not alone; it’s one of the most requested titles on NetGalley right now (sadly, I got declined) and I’m sure we’ll all be waiting and then reading together when it finally does hit shelves. Is this on your list? What are some stories you’d like to see retellings of? What are some stories you wish they’d just LEAVE ALONE ALREADY? Let me know in the comments!